BESTSELLERS ANYONE?

Couple of days back I went to a book store , while I was scanning each of the section , one by one , enjoying the solitude, savouring the moment , when the salesperson who was watching me for a while came and said to me ,
“Mam this xyz book is getting fantastic reviews , its a new bestseller , you should read this, everyone is reading it”and he left , keeping the book on the shelf in front of me,
it was a book based on some real life tragic love story , needless to say I was intrigued but decided to stick to my favourite genre ,descriptive short stories . Romance ,love , happy endings , not my cup of tea when it comes to books ,though they are fantastic I agree.
Fast forward to the billing process, I was third in the queue and to my surprise both the people standing before me had bought the same bestseller book and while I was mentally debating whether I should consider the bestseller or not.

A girl enters and asks specifically about the bestseller section and rushes to the designated area, I mean I was taken aback , nothing wrong but the fact that she dint even bother to consider the other sections . Every book is a journey in itself, I believe one cannot compare a book for each of it has a different meaning to it , a whole different set of characters and circumstances , one can definitely like a genre over other but at the same time cannot do away with other genre all together….. coming to the situation I decided to ask the reason as to why she wanted to buy a bestseller and also wanted to see if even she picks the same xyz book or not,
guess what ,
She got hold of the exact same book almost immediately , I couldn’t resist my urge to ask her why , usually I am “mind my own business “kind of person, but that day was a exception .I asked her and to that she replied its a bestseller and also the author is a well known television celebrity, its the talk to the town thing ,though I have heard its a regular love story of inter caste marriage but I don’t want to  be the person who doesn’t know about the popular book.
I smiled , that was all I could manage to do .
It takes so much effort to write a book , so much of courage to open the dark pages of one’s life , so much of skills to pen down your beautiful imagination with a dream that it will turn it into someone’s reality .
Those 300, 400 , pages that make you forget the burden of life , pages which at times take you away from the stark reality into a sheltered cabin and at times make you stare right in the eyes of life, how can such a thing be categorized in watertight categories of average, good , superb, and above all BESTSELLER,if a book is not a best seller does it mean that it was not a good book, com on , all it means is that it did not get the right audience in right number which could appreciate its content and its applicability .
so , I generally do not prefer bestsellers ,They lose their touch and often become commercialized, not that they are not good but obviously they are no better than the one’s kept in corner most shelf of the store or library ,just as new but with a layer of dust covering them simply because most people weren’t brave enough to explore the journey they kept secret within the hard cover imbibed in the yellow shaded pages.

Leave a comment